Marriage License in Oklahoma

Short answer: In Oklahoma, a marriage license comes from the clerk of the district court โ€” the Court Clerk โ€” in a county in the state. Both people apply together, in person, in a written application signed and sworn to before that clerk. The law statewide sets the age rules, the application, the fee, and how long the license lasts. This page reports only what official Oklahoma sources say.

General information only โ€” not legal advice. This page explains what official Oklahoma sources say about a marriage license. It does not replace the advice of a lawyer, and it is not a Court Clerk’s office. Check with the Court Clerk in the county you choose before you go.

A license is required first โ€” the law statewide

Oklahoma Statutes Title 43, Section 4, says no person shall enter into the marriage relation, and no person shall perform or solemnize a marriage ceremony in this state, without a license first issued by the judge or clerk of the district court of some county in this state, authorizing the marriage between the persons named in the license.

Section 5, part D, adds a statewide rule that helps with planning: the marriage license shall be valid in any county within the state. You apply in one county, and the license itself is not limited to that county.

Who may marry โ€” the law statewide

Title 43, Section 3, states the age rule in its first part: any unmarried person who is at least eighteen (18) years of age and not otherwise disqualified is capable of contracting and consenting to marriage.

The application โ€” the law statewide

Title 43, Section 5, part A, says persons desiring to be married in this state shall submit an application in writing, signed and sworn to in person before the clerk of the district court, by both of the parties. The application sets out:

Section 5, part B, says that on that application, and on payment of the fees provided in Section 31 of Title 28, if the clerk of the district court is satisfied of the truth and sufficiency of the application and that there is no legal impediment to the marriage, the court clerk shall issue the marriage license and a marriage certificate, incorporated as one document. The marriage certificate is completed immediately following the marriage, and the license and certificate are returned to the court clerk, as required by law.

The fee โ€” the law statewide

The fee itself is not set in Title 43. Title 43 points to Title 28, Section 31, and that section states the amounts for the clerk’s work of application, issuing, entering return, and recording a marriage license:

Those are the only license fee amounts printed on this page, because those are the amounts the statute itself states. Other costs โ€” for copies, for a ceremony, or for anything else โ€” are not stated on this page. Ask the Court Clerk what, if anything, else applies in that county.

Premarital counseling and the reduced fee โ€” the law statewide

Title 43, Section 5, part B, says parties who present a certificate to the clerk of the district court stating that they have completed the premarital counseling program under Section 5.1 are entitled to pay a reduced fee for a marriage license, in the amount provided in Title 28, Section 31 โ€” the $5.00 amount above.

Section 5.1 says the clerk shall reduce the fee, as prescribed by Title 28, Section 31, for persons who have successfully completed a premarital counseling program that meets the conditions in that section. Under Section 5.1:

Waiting period and how long the license lasts โ€” the law statewide

What the license itself contains โ€” the law statewide

Title 43, Section 6, says the marriage license shall contain the date it was issued; the name of the court issuing it, and the name of the city or town and county where the court is located; the full legal names of the persons authorized to be married, the full legal names by which they will be known after the marriage, their ages, and their places of residence; directions to any person authorized by law to perform and solemnize the marriage ceremony; and the number of days by which the ceremony shall be completed and by which the certificate, with the license, shall be returned to the court clerk, as provided in Section 20.

Who may perform the ceremony โ€” the law statewide

Title 43, Section 7, part A, says all marriages must be contracted by a formal ceremony performed or solemnized in the presence of at least two adult, competent persons as witnesses, by:

Section 7, part B, adds two filing and certifying points: a judge shall place his or her order of appointment on file with the office of the court clerk of the county where the judge resides; and the preacher, minister, priest, rabbi, or ecclesiastical dignitary shall certify on the marriage certificate that he or she holds credentials or authority from his or her church or synagogue authorizing him or her to solemnize marriages.

Section 7, part D, makes an exception in its own words for marriages between persons belonging to the society called Friends, or Quakers, the spiritual assembly of the Baha’is, or the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, which have no ordained minister: those marriages may be solemnized by the persons and in the manner prescribed by and practiced in any such society, church, or assembly.

After the ceremony, Title 43, Section 8, covers endorsement and return: the person performing the ceremony endorses the license with his or her name and official or clerical designation, the court or congregation, and the town or city and county; the witnesses endorse the marriage certificate, attesting to their presence; the married persons endorse it with the names by which they are to be known from the time of the marriage; and the license, with the completed certificate, is transmitted to the court clerk who issued it, for recording, within the time required in Section 20.

Kay County example โ€” Ponca City’s county

Ponca City is in Kay County. The steps below are only the Kay County Court Clerk’s own published mechanics. They are a local example, not a statewide rule for every county. Every county has its own Court Clerk, so if you use a different county, check that county’s Court Clerk instead.

The Kay County Court Clerk’s own page, as read for this page, does not state a license fee. That is why the fee amounts above are labeled as the law statewide, from Title 28, Section 31 โ€” not as a Kay County fee. Call the Kay County Court Clerk at the number above to confirm the current total and how payment is taken before you go.

A marriage license is not a birth or death certificate. Licenses come from a Court Clerk under Title 43. Do not go to a vital-records office for a license expecting that office to issue it โ€” start with a Court Clerk.

General information only โ€” not legal advice.

Sources

(A) Oklahoma Legislature, Oklahoma Statutes, Title 43 โ€” Marriage and Family, sections 2, 3, 4, 5, 5.1, 6, 7, 8, and 20 โ€” oklegislature.gov

(B) Oklahoma Legislature, Oklahoma Statutes, Title 28 โ€” Fees, section 31 โ€” oklegislature.gov

(C) Kay County, Oklahoma, “Court Clerk” page (Marilee Thornton, Kay County Court Clerk) โ€” Marriage Licenses, address, phone, and hours โ€” courthouse.kay.ok.us

Checked November 2026.